All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice please. I want to begin investing but I need to buy my own home.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of akuhataakuhata
    Participant
    @akuhata

Hi everyone

I have recently resigned my job in Darwin and I have moved to Brisbane. I have 2 and half months paid leave and I would like to use this time to; first get a job and second start property investing. Since I am quite new at this and it best to get right from the start, I need help. I’m living with a friend but I'll have to move out soon and I would like to purchase my own home. How can I go about this the best way to help borrowing capacity etc. for future financial investments?
    My personal stats are ATM:
    Current Income: $60,000
    Savings: $5,000
    Debt:Nil (Literally none I owe nothing to no one)
    Assets: Nil

I know, not to flash but you have to start somewhere.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

First can you clarify_ You said you want to find a job. Then you said you are on $60,000pa??

You said you just got 2 and a half months payout but you only have $5,000 (or was it a very poor paying job?)

If you have just started working you will find it very difficult to get a home. AND you have no money. I don't see how buying your own home is possible in the near future. In your situation an investment property would be financially easier (when you can afford it).
    But as you said. You need to start somewhere. Good on you for trying to put a plan in place.

I'd consider keep sharing to enable you to save like crazy. Get more stability on the job front. Read some investment books (Somers, Lomas)
    In a year see whether you are in a position to borrow.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Akuhata

Welcome to the forum.