All Topics / Help Needed! / house or investment

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of dellasdellas
    @dellas

hi guys 1st time i have posted, im abit of a late bloomer in the porperty game, im 29 and have 85k saved, i have a gf who has very little money and we plan to get married in 3yrs, we both still live at home so im able to save 6-700 a week, when we get married obv we want to buy a home, should i continue to save for a home, use some of the money to invest etc, im a real novice and would luv some advice on what to do, my salary is only 48k, cheers.

Profile photo of thomsonthomson
    @thomson

mate, I'm sure wiser heads than mine will be able to offer some good advice but I just wanted to say well done for saving that kind of money – I wish I had done that at your age.  Sounds like you're in the right place mentally and I'm sure you'll do fine.

thommo

Profile photo of illuminatiilluminati
    @illuminati

wanting to buy your home is a nice dream, but investing is a better one!
    if you could get a positive investment and rent instead of buying, assuming the rent is a good price. you would be much better off financially.  as the investment will provide extra benifits that you will not recieve from owning your own home. 

a smart strategy is build up an investment portfolio then use the income or profit from this to buy your home.

if you are just wondering what to do with the money in the mean time,  then investing in shorter term investments is a good idea. as the return will be greater then just saving money in a bank account.
    But all investments carry risk, so just saving money means it will be safe.  but in 3 years time with inflation etc. your money plus the bank interest will not total that much more then its worth now.