All Topics / Overseas Deals / First Investment in US – I need the advices (arnold accent)

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of white_goodmanwhite_goodman
    Participant
    @white_goodman

Hey all, new member, first posting..

Been reading through BB Miami Advice thread, very good.

Im looking to invest in the US, preferably cash flow positive property initially and hopefully look for CG in 2nd or 3rd properties.

My situation:
    -22 years of age and will have about $38k in cash by Feb 2011 (when i plan to invest)
    – I live at home with minimal expenses, $300 per week max, and save approx $3.2k a month
    – i have a property economics degree so im not a total newb with regards to property ie valuation, DCF, cash flow, market research.. but admittedly was more commercial focused and slept a lot through accounting and tax type stuff

im not looking for advice on what area to invest in the US (I can do this myself), im just a little hazy on what the best approach would be?

– will i still be able to get FHOG if i buy my first property in US? (i assume it depends on where the loan originates?)
    -US loan vs Australian loan? (Id be happy shorting AUDUSD atm so an Aussie loan aint too far out of the question)
    -Do i have to physically go over there to inspect, sign documents etc or should i work through a company that does this for me?
    – should i be setting up an LLC?
    – US bank account – do i need one?
    – IRS tax implication stuff
    – other cash flow type stuff I need to know besides land tax, strata fees (they called HOA fees over there? what is HOA?), management fees etc?

ive given myself to February to get this done cos I want to get into the US market sooner rather than later, as I love buying dips, and this represents an amazing opportunity that im afraid we wont see in my home city of Sydney any time soon due to current market fundamentals…

thanks for any help, links, advices cheers…