All Topics / Legal & Accounting / First IP Tax Question

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of TongTong
    @tong

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time submitting to the forum. It’s been great reading all the ideas and discussions.

I have a question on my first move into buying my first Investment Property. From the equity of my first home (townhouse), I got a pre-approved refinance loan of $500k for a second property plus $275k for my existing loan. The problem is I would like to move into the larger new home and rent out my existing townhouse.

I need to know how I can calculate my CGT on the townhouse if I was to rent it out. Also, is there any chance of getting the stamp duty back from the purchase of the second property?

I was told that an accountant should be able to make the proper allocations and “shift” all the equity to the new home and have the rented townhouse fully geared. Is this possible?

Any help to push me in the right direction is much appreciated.

Thank you,
    Tong

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Tong

Welcome to the forum.

CGT is only payable on the sale of the property – not when renting it out.

The interest payable on the $275k loan that is attached to your townhouse will be tax deductable when this property becomes an investment. The $500k loan on your new home won't be.

It sounds like the pre-approval that the bank has granted is based on using your townhouse as security for your next property. This isn't an ideal structure – especially if you're considering purchasing another investment property down the track.

A good independent broker will be able to structure the deal correctly.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of ShwingShwing
    Participant