All Topics / Help Needed! / Would that be a good investment?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of leocrespoleocrespo
    @leocrespo

Hi guys.

I’m halfway through the book “From 0 to 130 properties”, which you guys recommended, and I’m doing some *very* basic calculations with Interest Only repayments.

Would that be a good investment?

Property value $520,000
    Downpayment $52,000
    Loan amount $468,000
    Interest 6.63%
    Repayments $2,586
    Rent that I can get per week 800
    Total per month 3200
    Repayment – rent $614 / month

Of course I’ll have to deduct strata, rates, maintenance etc, but I just want to get a sense of what a good investment is.

If I purchase this and pay interest only, it will never ever get paid (of course). I’m new to this so I can’t get my head around the idea of having a loan that will never be paid.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks in advance.

Leonardo.

Profile photo of illuminatiilluminati
    @illuminati

The load does get paid… but it gets paid at the end of a set term… in a big lump sum… so start saving! Someone posted just yesterday or something about banks not accepting the logic of selling the property to repay the load. they wanted some extra proof that you can pay the sum off.

some things with your sum that are different to mine though…..

you assumed there are exactly 4 weeks in a month.
    i prefer to times the weekly rent by 52 (or 50 if i want a buffer for vacant days)
    and then divide by 12 to get monthly

so 800 *4 = 3200
    800*52/12 = 3466

As you can see quite different.

its a good rental return in my eyes. but do make sure you calculate the strata, rates etc…. cos they can kill any deal if they are too high.

some others might not think its as great a return, but its a 20% return on the actual cash you invested (before strata fees and taxes etc). and that sounds good to me.

Profile photo of TaylorChangTaylorChang
    Participant
    @scha9799