All Topics / Help Needed! / Which state is best to start buying an investment property in 2010 market conditions?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of wealthcreationwealthcreation
    @wealthcreation

Hi all,I am a newbie.I am looking buy an investment property.I often get confused with the news or data /reports showing different market conditions in 3 major capital states and cities i.e Sydney,Melbourne and Brisbane. Especiallly when reports say Brisbane market is flat and Melbourne & Sydney market are hot etc.I am not sure whether to buy in Brisbane market(QLD) or Sydney market (NSW) or Melbourne market(VIC).I live in QLD. Are there any additional costs if you buy inter-state? If yes,which ones and how much for $350 k property.My strategy is to go for a standard investment property with "buy and hold".I am looking into 10 years timeline.Budget about $300k-$350 k or $350k-$400k if can't find a well-located good property in a capital growth area.Where should I start for best outcomes, in Brisbane or Sydney or Melbourne ? (considering 2010 current state-wise market conditions & Australia's economic outlook)Time-line for investment 2010-2020.Any thoughts/suggestions are welcome.Thanks.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Wealth Creation

Welcome to the forum.

You're right, there's a heap of information and it can seem pretty overwhelming when you begin. The important thing is to get clued up – read and absorb as much info as possible.

Personally, I think it's Brisbane's time to shine. Sydney, Melb and even Canberra, have experienced tremendous growth over the last 18 months. Brisbane on the other hand has remained relatively stagnant, perhaps even declining a little.

As activity begins to slow in Sydney and Melbourne, investors may start looking elsewhere – Brisbane is as good as place as any.