All Topics / Finance / Financing $$$ Options for Shares

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of kong71286kong71286
    Participant
    @kong71286

Hi guys,

I understand this is a site intended for real estate investors, but seeing that there are so many bright and knowledgeable people in here, I thought I'd try my luck to see if I could some ideas about the best way to go abouts with financing for shares

A little bit about myself…. I'm a 23yr old Pharmacist, earning $70,000 pa, and have $20,000 of savings…  My current goal is to have at least $50,000 of mining shares before the end of 2011…

Here are some options I have thought about

Option 1: Saving

Saving $2,000 per month and buying shares in cash. This method is slow, but may be the safest. My only concern is that I may miss out on significant gains if prices spike before 2012

Option 2: Margin Loan

From my understanding, this type of loan involves using shares you own as security, and E-trade Australia charge 8.75-9.49% interest rate. What I don't quite understand is how much I could borrow, and how much principle repayment I would have to make in addition to the interest charges

Option 3: Credit Card

Getting a $25,000 Cash Advance from SCU or Mecu Mecu Visa Card at 10.49%, and then transferring it to a Suncorp Platinum Card, which charge 3.9% pa on the life of balance transfers. The low interest charge seems enticing, but there may be other fees and charges that I haven't taken into consideration. I remember reading somewhere about 2.5-3% min principle repayment per month

Questions

·        What do you guys think about the above options?

·         Do you have any other ideas about how I could go abouts to obtain finance?

·         Are there any major issues you think I have not considered?

Other thoughts lingering on my mind

·        Tax implications – Can I claim interest repayments on my tax return?