All Topics / General Property / Is now a good time to buy an IP

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of wonderlandwonderland
    @wonderland

hi everyone,

I'm very new to all this, and have only recently found this forum. I've learnt alot in such a short space of time! Anyways, my partner and I are in the process of researching about IP and whether we could afford to buy one. if we do buy one, we were looking at maybe making the purchase around end of this year, early next year. However, I have heard that people are saying that property prices will fall within the next few years, because we are at the end of the cycle.

That has made us abit scared to buy soon. We would hate to buy an IP at the peak of the market, only to see the property prices fall straight after. I guess what i'm asking is whether all you experts out there THINK its a good idea to buy now. Or should we try and save more money and buy in a few years time. The only problem is that we are planning on having kids within the next few years, if we decide to buy an IP then, our buying capacity will go down by alot. We are just unsure on what is the best thing to do?

Any advise would be great appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of danielleedaniellee
    @daniellee

Hi Wonderland,

It might be good that you spend more time learning about property investing, investor concepts and investing psychology. Many of your fears can be answered when you understand more.

Regarding savings, it is good that you are doing so. You also have to remember that not many can save more than the month appreciation in property prices, so on that note, the sooner you buy the better. However, no point rushing out to buy something you do not really understand.