All Topics / Help Needed! / Legal implications in Tenants in Common and the Perth IP Market

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of housegoodieshousegoodies
    @housegoodies

Legal implications in Tenants in Common and the Perth IP Market

Been looking very hard in the IP market in Perth for the past few months, made 2 offers in Kenwick and Balga in the past 30 days, asking prices was $299000 and $335000, we made full offer price but both offers got rejected by the owner. Now we are bit confused, If full asking offer price is not good enough, what other strategy should we use in order to get us over the line?

One other question is: With Tenants in Common, I have been a sole trader for the past 5 years I am always bit worried been getting sued if something goes wrong. Wife is studying and should go back to the work force as a chemist later in the year, if we were to put say 99% of the property in my wife's name and 1% in my name. Does that mean if someone sues me they can only take away 1% of the IP value due to the fact I only have the 1% share in the IP?

IP Starter

Profile photo of kopidudekopidude
    @kopidude

Hi there

I'm very green myself and cannot help with your specific question but I can give you some info on one of the areas you are looking to buy in.
    I am from Girrawheen in Perth, the next suburb from Balga, and know the area very well.
    I would do a lot of research before buying there as I believe any capital growth will be very slow.
    Please check it out, don't take my word, but a word of warning.

Cheers

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw
    housegoodies wrote:

Legal implications in Tenants in Common and the Perth IP Market

Does that mean if someone sues me they can only take away 1% of the IP value due to the fact I only have the 1% share in the IP?

IP Starter

Yes, generally this is the case.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd