All Topics / Help Needed! / Panicking – Interest in advance not processed timely

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of ankitjainankitjain
    Participant
    @ankitjain

I have been panicking tonight after receving a letter from my bank.

I have been paying interest in advance for the past four years on my property. I pay every year near the end of the financial year. This year I did the same – I fixed my home loan via  my bank stgeorge bank. I did this well within time via a st George bank branch –they put in the application and submitted it on my behalf. I have sufficient money in my account all the time (another st George bank account) to take the money out of.

After that I rang up st George to confirm that everything is in place (at the beginning of the month -June) the lady on the phone told me everything was in place and money would be taken out on the 28th June. I rang up 29th June morning and they said sorry –system error it will get taken on 29th June night . The daily routine continued till the 1st july. Still the same message from a different person on the phone everytime.

A)     I have an email from st George bank teller that they had a system error and this will get corrected and correctly dated.

B) Now today i receive a letter from st goerge bank to me saying that they were unable process the interest in advance –sorry.

My loss : Given this is clearly St George banks error what are my legal options –  It would cost me approximately a 10000 tax hit because of this error on part of the bank. please help.

Profile photo of ankitjainankitjain
    Participant
    @ankitjain

I am sure I would not be the only person facing this problem – This is definitely a wider issue affecting many customers -please contact me on [email protected] if you or anyone known to you has faced this problem.

Profile photo of BankerBanker
    Participant
    @banker