All Topics / Help Needed! / First subdivision/development project

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of Marie123Marie123
    Participant
    @marie123

I have just embarked on my second inventment strategy. I am new to all this and wondered if I may get some help. I have a block of land that is R40, the town planner has emailed me letting me know I can build 3 dwellings on the land. What is the next step? Can I rely on Steve's book to help me work through the steps or should I be doing further study.

Any help is most appreciated

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

I have not done this yet myself but this is what I know about development !
    I am doing a rookie developer course on Sunday 19 June to learn more
    http://www.rookiedeveloper.com.au

Design – getting land surveyed – you need a surveyor
                   – getting dwelling plans – architect or designer needed

need to show how connections lik water, electricty, gas and phone are going to be connected also !

submitting plans – may wish to employ a private town planner it will make it easier !

waiting for approval

find a builder to build dwellings

You may wish to pre sell off the plan

get dwelling built

get connections connected

you should have all this costed before you purchase to work out profit margin

I recommend you at least read a book on development
    as it can be easy to make a loss if you do not have good knowledge what you are doing .

here is some books you may wish to read
    http://www.businessmall.com.au/property-investing/property-development.html

Profile photo of DWolfeDWolfe
    Participant
    @dwolfe

Hi!

Good reads are the API small developments guide, Ron Forlee's book on residential development. Other ok reads are the Red Arm Chair developers books which are nice and simple, but you only get part of the process in each book.