All Topics / General Property / new to property investing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of palmer01palmer01
    @palmer01

hi i am pretty new to the property market and i was applying the 1% rule to a property out at young (past bathurst) when the roi result i used showed that it was a 11% return. just asking if this would be ok as a first investment property? any help would be great. thanks chris

Profile photo of GeraldineMGeraldineM
    @geraldinem

Hi Chris.

I'm not familiar with the area, but I'd check the population trends (should be stable, but better to be growing) and talk to a couple of property managers to see if there is 1. good rental demand,  2.  a reasonable type of tenant, and  3. double check the rent you have been quoted to make sure it is achievable.  The nearest council website or real estate.com are also sources of interesting statistics for the area, such as employment, infrastructure plans, demographics.

Bye,  G

Profile photo of itsandrewitsandrew
    Participant
    @itsandrew

Hi Palmer,

Can you explain what the 1% rule is.  I am not familiar with that one.

Thanks,

Andrew

itsandrew

Go as far as you can see and you will see further.

Profile photo of djjkdjjk
    Participant
    @djjk

Andrew
    The 1% rule is one of the rules investors follow when looking for cash flowing deals. 

ie the Gross monthly rent needs to be greater than or equal to 1%of the annual mortgage cost.  eg if your mortgage is $400k, does the monthly rent equal $4k per month (unlikely in Sydney!)?  This and the 2% rule is mostly likely to work on lower priced deals, regionally or cheaper areas in general.

Cheers
    Josh

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

1% rule sounds more like the rule that I'd follow 1% of the time

Profile photo of ClaireeClairee
    Participant
    @clairee

HI Chris