All Topics / Help Needed! / The New Guy.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 24 total)
  • Profile photo of milliondollarmaniacmilliondollarmaniac
    @milliondollarmaniac

Hi guys, just thought i would post here just introducing myself i am 18 and have taken a recent interest in the property market, i am currently studying business marketing at university but thinking about changing to property development. I am wondering if i should stop wasting my time at university and get a full time job and try to educate myself as much as possible about real estate while saving as much money as i possibly can to purchase my first IP. Because every book i have read says start as early as you can.

Also on a side note if there are any real estate investors who live on the sunshine coast Queensland and wouldn't mind having a passionate and avid learner by there side when they purchase there next property give us a PM. 

Thanks

Profile photo of ChizChiz
    Participant
    @chiz

Hi Warren,

If you’re even part way through Uni I’d suggest keep going – no question about it.

One advantage of being a student (over us full time employees) is that you have a few more hours spare per week. You don’t have the income but if you can find property that is ripe for reno / developing and then partner with someone who has the borrowing capacity you should be able to make some money.

I’ve not done this but consider this: Find a property. Post something back here that shows its a project worth considering. Get any interested parties to sign an agreement that they can’t buy the property (that you’ll reveal to them) without them owning you $XXXX (whatever your expected profit would be).

Others may have ideas on how to do this legally.

…but don’t give up the Uni course yet.