All Topics / General Property / What exactly IS positive gearing?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of House CallHouse Call
    @house-call

Hi I am new to the whole property investing game and after reading Margaret Lomas and Steve McKnight's books am keen on the concept of positive gearing.

BUT WHAT IS POSITIVE GEARING????

Loosely it is seems to be defined as where income is greater than costs, but hey if I borrow 80% using the IP as security then fund the other 20% then I have borrowed 105% total. That becomes very hard to find property that covers the interest and management costs on that.

One author seemed to suggest positive gearing is only the bit against the 80% loan.  So what happens to servicing the other 20%?  And how does one then get into that enviable position that I would like to be in of being able to buy a whole heap of houses if the rents do not totally cover the whole 105%????

Profile photo of keikokeiko
    Participant
    @keiko

Basicly if you buy a house for $100,000 and you pay $7,000 pa in interest and $2,000 in rates and insurance and allow $1,000 for maintanance which totals $10,000 per year and your property returns you $12,000 per year, then you are positivly geared but if the property only returns you $5,000 per year then you are negativly geared, if it returns $10,000 per year then you are neutraly geared.

Now the author that says you only use the bit against the loan is incorrect, that is a stupid way to look at it, because if you have 40% mortgage you don't want to be only looking at a return of $4,000

when I buy a property it must return me 100% of the purchase price and all other costs involved, stamp duty renovations etc
    your money is also worth something, so you need to get a return from it.

Profile photo of House CallHouse Call
    @house-call

Yes that's what I thought too.  But how many properties are out there getting 12%?

Profile photo of Anthony.AounAnthony.Aoun
    Participant