All Topics / Help Needed! / Reasonable assets, but where to start??

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of catfreecatfree
    Participant
    @catfree

Hey ho all – newbie here from Melbourne. Hubby and I are lucky enough to have reasonable assets behind us, but just don't know where to start. We need to restructure a little, as much of our asset base consists of a leased farm bringing in 4% gross – hubby isn't comfortable with selling farm land just yet (though within five years), but we are excising the home from the land and should be able to sell for $150K… once done restructuring we should have:

Cash $40K
    Home $375K and mortgage $238K
    Farm land $990K and loan from family $227K, leased at $39,600/annum… paying $20K per year back on loan, can be reeduced to $10K if requested
    Investment Property $240K, mortgage $188K, leased to govt dept for $14,300/annum

Hubby is very talented and would love to work for himself again. He enjoys and is very good at renovating – and we are both tight wads and VERY careful about costs. His job (nine day fortnight, good hours, suits our young family) is great for the moment, but there is no upward movement and he is already starting to be bored by it.

I have my own business which I love and which is now in its third year and has completely replaced my previous employed income… I am strict about the hours I work and leave the laptop at work rather than letting it infringe on our family time… we are very much of the philosophy that we work to live, not live to work.

We have set our goal – $1,500,000 in debt free commercial proprty before we hit 40 (June and November 2015).

I realise that we are already a good way there asset wise, but am not prepared to pressure hubby to sell the farm when he isn't ready to yet.

In the meantime, I was thinking subdivide and sell? Or even subdivide, build, sell? Possibly buy, divide, reno original, sell…