All Topics / Value Adding / How to get council approval for pre-exisitng granny flat?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Profile photo of god_of_moneygod_of_money
    Participant
    @god_of_money

Does anyone know step-by-step to get council to approve pre-exisitng granny flat?

I know that NSW planning has the website describing the criterias.

Do I need to engage a town planner etc?

Cheers

Profile photo of Property TraderProperty Trader
    Participant
    @property-trader

Hi there,

I have no experience in this, however for me to resolve this issue I would contact a town planner and ask them over the phone was is the usual way this can be done and they should be able to steer you in the right direction.

Property Trader | Boston West Pty Ltd
    http://bostonwest.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Private money lending opportunities available paying upto 12%, secured by bricks and mortar!

Profile photo of christianbchristianb
    Participant
    @christianb

Generally speaking, one would think that a pre-existing building would have an approval in place? So first step would be to determine its status. If no planning or building approvals exist, the next step is to ascertain what approvals are required. Does it require only a building approval, or is a town planning permit also required?

Both building and planning approvals can be sought retrospectively but it can get a little complicated, especially if it is non compliant in some way, or is upsetting the neighbours.

Profile photo of god_of_moneygod_of_money
    Participant
    @god_of_money

Does it require only a building approval, or is a town planning permit also required?

Who do I need to contact to get an approval?
    How do I start? contacting the council…. will give me a myriad answer

How complicated to get it retrospectively… the granny flat has been built about 5 years ago

Profile photo of number 8number 8
    Participant
    @number-8