All Topics / General Property / New to this current property or start again?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of GavrossGavross
    @gavross

G’Day All,
    I am a newbie, I have just finished the book 0 – 130 properties. I just need to confirm my own thinking. I own a property in Townsville, bought in late 2003 and lived in as primary residence (defence family move every 2 yrs). Current conservative value of $350k I owe $120k, with gov paying $120 of the interest for me a month. The property is currently rented at $330 a week. My thoughts are before I embark on my real estate empire is to use equity to renovate (approx $30k) so I can increase rent and value of property and push me into +CF territory as at the moment as the property costs approx $5000 a year (maybe I have set aside to much for maint, managers and all other costs). I already have a guaranteed passive income of $55k (CPI indexed). I would like to increase this substantively so my wife can retire and we can maintain our same standard of living (medical issues life is short, need to enjoy life a lot more before I no longer can). As I already have this passive income this will be my full time job / hobby. I would just like opinions on wether to focus on this current property first whilst I learn the ins and outs of full time property investment and forming our own family property business.
    THank you all forumites for your wisdom
    Gavross

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

If I was you I would check out if you are able to get finance with a passive income.
    Lenders can be difficult to deal with if you do not have income from a job.

Profile photo of GavrossGavross
    @gavross