All Topics / General Property / starting out

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of tvptvp
    @tvp

Hi everyone,

Im new to this site so im not sure if this is the right section for my questions. lol

23years old and Im really keen on investing in a property ATM Ive got about 23k for a deposit but my income isn't so good. I make just over 32k a year and its hard to borrow money off the bank to start. I went to the bank and they told me I can only get about 180k.

How would I go about starting to invest in property? should i get a load for 1st home owners or as an investment property? Im really new to all this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Anyone can PM me with advice or put it here,  Im from Melbourne by the way.

thank you.

Profile photo of YoungInvestorYoungInvestor
    Participant
    @younginvestor

Hi TVP,

It is certainly possible to get property with a loan of $180k. You just might need to consider purchasing outside of the area where you live.

Profile photo of sam2011sam2011
    @sam2011

why dont you look in the regional space, you can get a good positive cash flow property or neutral and it wont affect your lifestyle.  with your salary you dont want to put too much pressure on yourself, what if interest goes up by 1% in the next 12month, how will that affect you?

not always the best option to look at expensive properties

Profile photo of JustinTJustinT
    @justint

I suggest find a broker when it comes to get a loan. 180k for 32k is too low in my oppion.

JT

Profile photo of tvptvp
    @tvp

thanks for the reply's.
    I'll have a look at houses that's not in my area. I think my income is a little bit to low to be thinking about getting a house. Im worried (as someone above has said) that interest will rise even more. etc Ill keep reading and see how I go. lol

thanks every one. If anyone's got anymore tips etc feel free to let me know.  :)

Profile photo of tvptvp
    @tvp

I got another question,