All Topics / Help Needed! / Buying off-the-plan in ACT

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of JenifahJenifah
    @jenifah

Hi Everyone,

I am interested in buying an off-the-plan apartment in the ACT for $300K and would appreciate any advice or help.

I am a Sydney resident and this will be my first investment property. I have no debt and my current salary is $50K, however I only have $5000 worth of saving to be used as my deposit. I do not have any guarantors and would not want to use a guarantor.

The apartment will start building around April 2010 and is due for completion around July 2011.

I have a few questions:

1. I am hoping that since I am getting an off-the-plan, I might be able to save more money later but would the lender take that into consideration? 
    2. Will I be able to use the FHOG as a deposit?
    3. Do I need to move into the apartment once its due for completion in 2011 for the 6 months in order to receive the FHOG? or can I start the agreement from April 2010? and physically not having to move in while the apartment is still being built?
    4. I am wondering if any lender would offer me a loan with my current situation and if not, what other options do I have?

Sorry for all the questions but any advice/help would be great.

Thank you.

Profile photo of startxingstartxing
    @startxing

1. I am hoping that since I am getting an off-the-plan, I might be able to save more money later but would the lender take that into consideration?

– Yes, because basic on your information, you will be saving for the next 12 months before settlement, and lender do look at how you spend your money on a monthly basis, by looking at your bank statement; 
    Buy off-plan are a way of investment for people who only can afford 10% deposit and couldn't get finance just yet, but able to secure a property now than later; 

2. Will I be able to use the FHOG as a deposit?