All Topics / Help Needed! / Buying off the plan

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of tsarblatsarbla
    Participant
    @tsarbla

Hi folks,
    I’m still relatively new to the investing world, and was hoping to get some advice on buying off the plan properties. I currently have 3 buy and hold properties that are neutrally geared. I’m going to be working another 5 years in a well paid job and at present don’t have the time to be much more than a passive investor. Therefore I am considering buying a few off the plan properties with some cash and equity I have. Is there anything that I need to be particularly wary of when buying off the plan, and does anyone have any suggestions as to how to get good deals with these things? Any other stories people might have of their own with buying off the plan? Basically any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Profile photo of christianbchristianb
    Participant
    @christianb

When buying off plan you are ultimately relying on the strength of the documentation to describe exactly what you are buying. So the first piece of advice is to understand that documentation. If you're not familiar with plans, elevations, specifications and the like then find someone who will look over them for you and explain anything you may not be sure about. The second issue is understanding your contractual obligations and those of the developer/vendor. Things like completion dates, settlement dates and damages clauses need to be understood.