All Topics / Help Needed! / 300k SE Qld looking to buy first IP

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of andrewjjandrewjj
    Participant
    @andrewjj

Hi all,

With a budget of 260 – 300k I am looking at buying my first IP. Initially i was looking at buying in Springfield/Springfield lakes area but i think i may not have enough. I have started to search in other areas close by eg: Redbank and Darra After searching the forums i have found a lot of mixed opinions of these areas. Ultimately my goal is to have this property rented but i will be living there short term.

So my questions are:
    Where would you buy in SE Qld with a similar budget and why?
    What is my first step to get into the market? i have no knowledge except what i have read of websites.

-Andrew

Profile photo of realestateedu.com.aurealestateedu.com.au
    @realestateedu.com.au

Hi Andrew,

I would suggest you start with 2 one bedders in Southport for better cash flow and easier rental … second hand ground floor …

Philip Sigglekow author

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Andrew

Hate to say i couldnt disagree with Philip more.

Springfield / S Lakes is at the end of the Western freeway and the Delphin development was voted the best masterplanned development in 2007. Prices since the start of the development have continued to climb and whilst i dont hold any property in that part of town have financed 101 properties for both investors and owner occupiers alike.

Regretfully idoubt you will get in for the sort of money you are referring to but therefore Forest Lake maybe an alternative.
    Financed a deal today in FL and wasnt much different to what you are looking to spend.

Remember if you are looking for it as an investment you may have totally different criteria to if you were intending to reside in the property long term as your own residence.