All Topics / Creative Investing / is anyone investing in rural towns!

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of blingbling81blingbling81
    Participant
    @blingbling81

just wondering if anyone is investing in rural towns as im looking at a positive cashflow property  but need some advice as if it is worth it in the long run with litle capital gains in the areaa. its $80000 and rents for $150 wk  but 9% growth where as i have found another one for $160000 and renting for $200 wk but 12%growth which would be better in the long run?
    thank you im only new to this and have 1 rental and a block of land

Profile photo of DWolfeDWolfe
    Participant
    @dwolfe

If you do a quick search you will find a whole thread on this. I personally have 1 so far in a rural town in VIC, I have found some others in NSW that I would be very happy to buy. If you are happy with the return go with it. As far a CG goes, about 10 yrs ago property  was for sale in a tiny, tiny town called Heyfield in Vic for about $24,000. This property went up about 3-4 yrs later to $78k I just did a search just then and it is from $125k-190k. So you can't tell me that CG don't come if you wait long enough. Shame I didn't have 24k back then!

D

DWolfe | www.homestagers.com.au
    http://www.homestagers.com.au
    Email Me

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

There is no point in investing without capital growth. Repairs will eat all of your measly profits.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Participant
    @dwolfe
    Profile photo of Ryan McLeanRyan McLean
    Participant
    @ryan-mclean