All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing Strategy help when low on cash flow

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of lucigooseylucigoosey
    @lucigoosey

Firstly I apologies if this has been covered before I tried to search first but did not find anything.
    I am new to IP and have been reading a book by Michael Yardney – How to Grow a multi million dollar property.
    He mentions an investing technique where you for instance borrow an extra 50,000 when buying an IP so that you can meet the interest repayments on the property without being out of pocket. This sounds very attractive to me who doesn't have a lot of spare cash and would struggle to make the difference between the rental income and the loan repayment having my own mortgage already.

Can any one advise if this is a viable technique/strategy and what could be the pitfalls

Thank you

mattnz
    Participant
    @mattnz

If you cant buy cashflow positive with interest rates this low, you are looking at buying the wrong property. A bank wont lend more than a property is worth.

Profile photo of ktastrphektastrphe
    @ktastrphe

Questions like that scare me! what would you do after the $50k disappears? You will also be paying interest on the $50k you are using to pay the other interest.

generally you can only borrow 90% of the properties value these days

Profile photo of lucigooseylucigoosey
    @lucigoosey

So what you are saying is that if you don't have the difference to make up the loan repayments, you cant start property investing.
    But couldn't the 50K sit as a line of credit and only be drawn as required? and then hopefully after 5 years or so the rent is at the same level as the property loan repayment? (by the way the 50K would be coming out of the equity of for example my own home)

I agree its a scary thought but it seems like it could work because the long term growth of the property would out way the short term hit

would anyone agree?