All Topics / Finance / Mortgage question: Extra repayments or use an Offset account?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 25 total)
  • Profile photo of fWordfWord
    Participant
    @fword

Good day, folks!

In the last few weeks I've spent time lurking around here and trying to learn more about property investing, and figured it's about time I posted something to the forum. In this case it's a question about something I've been trying to get my head around but still not sure I fully understand.

Please allow me to introduce myself. I've been working for the last two years in Melbourne and about to become a first home owner. The contract has already been signed and settlement due sometime in November. The intention is to stay at this house for the first 6 months to qualify for the FHOG and then eventually move back with my parents and rent out this house. In this sense, this house is going to be an IP eventually, but initially at least, a PPOR.

I intend to hold this house over the long term (ie. for as long as I can) and possibly move back into it when I am ready.

After having a chat to a mortgage broker he gave me two recommendations: a Bankwest basic loan with a very low rate (but not many features) and a Homeside loan that includes a 100% deposit offset account. Initially I was weighing up going all fixed vs all variable. Turns out there's a huge rift between fixed and variable rates now, so I'm going to go variable. I've also decided to go for the Homeside loan because I read here about how useful an offset account is.

That said, my original plan was to make extra repayments on my home loan as if I'm paying 7+% interest, rather than the 5+% that's required. My main questions are: should I be making extra repayments on my loan even if I have an offset account? Or should I be making minimum repayments instead and leaving the 'spare cash' in the offset? Which is better for the reduction of principle and interest in the long run?

For example: