All Topics / Finance / Mortgage exit fees and subsequent mortgages

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of BronteBronte
    Participant
    @bronte

Hello:

I am a real novice at this mortgage stuff, still getting my head around exit fees and so forth.

My question is this:

When selling one property in order to buy another (talking ppor here – and moving up the property ladder) how does the mechanics of the mortgage basically work?

Does the existing mortgage on the first residence have to be paid out – and then a second mortgage applied for in order to purchase the second property?

Can a mortgage be 'rolled over' – carried on from one property to the next with an extra amount added to the existing mortgage to bridge the price difference?

What are the best ways to go about avoiding too many bank fees?

Can the need to supply a large cash deposit be avoided?

What happens if there is a time delay between sale of first property and purchase of next property?

Thank you!

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Bronte

Certainly a few questions there.

When selling one property in order to buy another (talking ppor here – and moving up the property ladder) how does the mechanics of the mortgage basically work? In essence if the loan is portable it is merely a matter of undertaking a new valuation on the subject property and the loan being transferred to the new property. You will of coruse have to sign a new letter of offer and Mortgage Documents.