All Topics / Help Needed! / subdivsion of land – Advice needed

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of ankitjainankitjain
    Participant
    @ankitjain

HI, My current house in Bundoora Melbourne has a land area of 650 sqm (but is of irregular shape). I would like to keep my current house and subdivide the land to build another house at the back. 

I am new to this whole process and need to understand the steps in the process (and even timeframes)

• How do I determine if I can subdivide given the irregular nature of the block?
    • How much does architect cost?
    • Should I go to the council first?
    • How much is the whole subdivision process likely to cost?

Is their some website /material which would advice the whole process and if it is worthwhile? 

Thanks for the help

Ankit

Profile photo of DavidSMorrisDavidSMorris
    Participant
    @davidsmorris

Hi Ankit

Hopefully I can shed some light on your development questions and in the interest of full disclosure please note that I am an architect.

This is how I work.

Step 1.
    Engage an architect to complete a feasibility. This should be a written document containing the specific regulations for your site and development options. 
    You can attempt to complete this study on your own depending on the usefulness of you council. Some councils will have great fact sheets with all your answers in one place, where other councils will have many document spread every and written in legal mumble jumble.
    Also a lot of the time the regulations are added to over a period of years resulting in small loop holes appearing. Only an architect of experienced investor will know of these loop holes, council will not offer up this information. These loop holes can result in bigger developments so I believe its worth paying the architect for the study.

If you still need convincing read my case study.