All Topics / Help Needed! / What could you do with A$30k

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of calvincicalvinci
    Participant
    @calvinci

hi, I am new to this investing. Just turn down a job offer as agent rept, so trying to figure out how to make some $$. I have A$30k on hand, owing a house worth A$500k, with A$300k mortgages. I was thinking what's the best option for this A$30k :

1. reduce mortages and save around A$120 a month on interest

2. buy a property worth around A$300k, pay A$15k as deposit, A$12k for stamp duty and tax, and rent it out at around A$1200 a month. With interest only payment, this is just enough for monthly payment. Then sell it off in 3 yrs when property prices went up

3. buy a property need work done at around A$300k, spend A$15k refresh it and sell of at A$360k.

What will be the best option, and how can any of this help with tax deduction?

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Start by sticking the $30K in a 100% offset account linked to the mortgage.

This gets you the best of both worlds. Reduce your non tax deductible interest payable as well as having the funds on call if you need them.

Do not use the funds for investment where you have non deductible debt.

Long term if you decide to purchase a new IP.

Take out a separate Line of Credit against the current PPOR and use this to fund the deposit and acqusition costs on a new IP.
    Fund the IP separately using a standalone loan facility.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of calvincicalvinci
    Participant
    @calvinci

hi, I don't quite understand, why do I have to take out additional credit on my current PPOR? can I just use this 30k to purchase another IP and have another loan on this IP? I can't put this 30k in another account to offset mortgages as my mortgage plan wasn't allow..