All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Renting to family

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of mollye6mollye6
    @mollye6

Hi, I am just wondering if anyone knew where we stand with tax etc when renting to family if we dont charge market value rent?
    Also how do we work out what market value is?
    thanks

Profile photo of mckeromckero
    Participant
    @mckero

Second question first.  You can get rent sheets from the local real estate agents find out what something similar is renting out for.  Or get 2 or 3 property managers to go through for a rental assessment.  If they know they're not the only ones offering an assessment they won't be too surprised when you don't call them back.
    Not being an accountant I can't comment on the tax or accounting standing on renting to family, but I rent 2 of my properties to family at "mates rates".
    This in some instances is not a lot different to having rented to long term tenants where their rent hasn't leaped ahead in pace with the market rates, and they're renting at less than market value.  If they're good long term tenants I sometimes have kept them at a slightly less than market rent ($5 to $10 a week) to encourage them not to look elsewhere.
    Hope this helps.

Profile photo of mollye6mollye6
    @mollye6

Thank you Mckero

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

I think you may not be able to claim anything at all if you are not getting a commercial rent – you won't be able to justify the deduction.

A way around it is to 'charge' them normal and and then gift them back the extra. Or, depending on their situation, pay them for doing maintenance on the place.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au