All Topics / Help Needed! / Young investor looking for advice

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of littleguybigworldlittleguybigworld
    @littleguybigworld

Hi guys. I have been sitting on my hands for a few years, and have been madly reading mags, books, and asking around for advice. I stumbled across these forums and have been reading through many topics. I'd appreciate any advice on how I'm going or any tips.

My story: July 2007 I bought a house for $270,000 in Narangba, north of Brisbane, while I was 20. Now, almost two years later, the loan is down to $240k, and my own personal value would place it at $320-$330k in comparison to others on the market nearby. Conservatively I'd be able to sell tomorrow for $300k.

Talking to my broker recently, he believes my borrowing capacity is not large enough for a second property due to my single income and my current wage. I have been living in this house with a few boarders here and there helping the repayments. The advice I keep hearing is 'never live in your own house' which is ringing true when I crunch the numbers. The golden ratio I also keep hearing is 50/50 or even 60/40 on the primary house before moving forward. It looks like I'll have to bite my lip for a few more years, paying it off as best as I can, while working towards a higher wage.

I can't help but think sitting around waiting is not the best thing to do. Any tips guys?

Thanks,

littleguybigworld

Profile photo of ShellymapleShellymaple
    @shellymaple

I feel you should the property a bit longer and it will fetsh you something handsome.

Profile photo of TjDLiFeTjDLiFe
    @tjdlife

Hey Champ…I'm only flying through this site as I'm on a chopper in an hour…sounds like some good friends of mine may be able to help work out what you can do.  Try "JDL Strategies" they will have a seminar some time soon in Bris so get you arse along to save yourself from too much bad advice and lost investment time. All the best mate… Tim