All Topics / General Property / Beachfront property – rising sea levels

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of ThamesThames
    @thames

Hello

I have a small property, close to the beach, in Melbourne (for those of you who know Melbourne, my place is beachside of the Nepean highway in Chelsea).

Over the last year, like all of us, I have heard the media place a lot of emphasis on the rising sea levels that are likely to result from the greenhouse effect.  I am not a scientist, and even the scientists don't seem to agree, but it seems that it is very possible that global sea levels will rise by 1 meter by the end of this century (some scientists state the rise will be higher, some say lower, but the general consensus seems to be 1 meter).  To be frank, this doesn't bother me much, as I will probably be long dead by the end of this century (like most of you reading this!), but I am interested to know whether anybody thinks that this will have an impact on beachside property prices within the next decade.  Clearly it will have a significant impact on beachfront property prices (assuming a one meter rise) by the end of the 21st century, but I'd like to know whether anyone has seen a change in sentiment towards beachside property as a 10-20 year investment (everything I have heard is that beachside/beachfront property has appreciated faster and more consistently than any other type of property over the last 10-20 years, but I wonder if this is starting to change as people feel less comfortable about the threat of rising sea levels).