All Topics / Help Needed! / lots of cash, no property or where to start

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of kjun01kjun01
    @kjun01

hi. I have received a large cash windfall of $100,000. I have researched and read and am keen to get started investing. I do not own any property and therefore have no equity. I have had conflicting advice on whether it is better to use my cash to start buying investment property straight away or to use the cash to but a house to live in now and use the equity to finance investment property. If I was to buy a property to live in it would be in the $350,000-400,000 range, and be my first home. I have a very decent income and no debt. what do forum members think?

Profile photo of dublin_101dublin_101
    Participant
    @dublin_101

i'm a newbie too, but if i was single with your current specs, eg, 100K cash plus a very decent income, I'd be renting and looking at getting 2-3 properties.

Profile photo of elkamelkam
    @elkam

Hello kjun01

In your position, specially if you qualify for the FHOG ( which is a nice 14K this year) , I would buy a property which I would first live in and then rent out after 6/12 months (depending on the state you live in). So even though you will be living in it initially buy it with the criteria you would use to buy an investment property. Also set up the loan structure as you would for an investment property ( i.e. probably IO with 100% offset).

If you can find a property which could use an upgrade you could do this and add value to it while you are living in it.

After the 6/12 months you could go back to renting and this ex PPOR would remain CGT free for up to 6 years.

Cheers
    Elka

Profile photo of Edvico_kvnEdvico_kvn
    @edvico_kvn

Kjun01,

I agree with the comments made by elkam above.  You could take advantage of the $14k/$21k FHOG and also exemption from Stamp Duty (if FH is in NSW).