All Topics / Help Needed! / How to make an offer to purchase my rental property

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of marrakechmarrakech
    @marrakech

This is my first post on these forums. I am very new to the world of property investing and I’m hoping someone can give me some advice about my situation.

I have been renting an apartment in the inner suburbs of Melbourne for the past three years, and I would like to approach the owner and put in an offer to buy it. Note: it’s not currently on the market, and I’ve got no idea if the owner would be interested in selling or not. But I believe this particular apartment would be a great investment for me, for various reasons. I would like to buy the apartment by private sale, live in it for 18 months and then lease it out while I live overseas.

My problem is that I don’t know how to approach the owner. He or she rents it out to me through a real estate agency, and so I think my only option is to approach the agent and ask them to pass on my offer. This raises a few issues. Firstly, how can I be sure that the agent will pass on my offer? If they do, it might result in the sale of the property, and the agent will lose the rental business. I know it sounds like I’m being overly suspicious, but I have heard rumours about this particular agent doing some dodgy things in the past. Secondly, as I understand it, one of the advantages for the owner in selling the property to me privately, is that they would have no agency fees to pay- but if my offer came via the rental agent, would this still apply? Would the owner incur a sales fee from the agent, if my offer to purchase came via the agent?

My other problem is that I’m not sure about the best way to approach making the actual offer. Do I come up with a figure first, offer it to them, and then wait for a reply? Or should I first ask them if they might be interested in selling, before I put in an offer?

Any advice would be much appreciated!