All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing for non residents

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of barbara.sijbesmabarbara.sijbesma
    Participant
    @barbara.sijbesma

Hi all,

I am hoping to get more info and your thoughts about my situation.

I am a 30 years old female from the Netherlands, I'm in Australia for a year now and just received a 457 long term business sponsorship Visa. I am planning to stay here for a long while, maybe even permanently? Just fell in love with this country. It's also this country who made me consider property investing, it seems that almost everybody does it!

I think I would be good at it, I have a business mind and can reach goals if I really want to. I have savings, I can pay a first deposit.

What I would like to know from you:

Can I invest in property in Australia as a non resident?

Is it better to wait 2 years when I become a permanent resident?

When I am a permanent resident, should I buy my own home first, so I am entitled to the First Home Buyers Grant?

Thanks a lot for your anwers, I am a bit puzzled at the moment and try to find the right thing to do.

Barbara Sijbesma

Profile photo of Paul DobsonPaul Dobson
    Participant
    @pauldobson

Hi Barbara

The Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) will probably allow you to buy a principal place of residence (PPOR) based on your 457 visa.  See:
    http://www.pelicanwaters.com/images/FIRBinformationguide.pdf
    in the Second Hand Dwellings section.

My opinion; I would buy now.

Cheers,  Paul

Paul Dobson | Vendor Finance Institute
    http://www.vendorfinanceinstitute.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

An alternative way to finance your home.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Barbara

Firstly welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time both here in australia and i our property investing community.