All Topics / Help Needed! / How much money to start investing?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of silverrookiesilverrookie
    @silverrookie

Hey all,

I’m new to this property investing. My previous forays into investments was one.tel so I am quite keen to avoid the share market.

From what I have read I think I want to set up a company and buy property that way. I only have about 15 grand saved at the minute. Is there anything I can do with that amount or do I need to have a bigger deposit?

Any help for an eager apprentice would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Profile photo of crjcrj
    Participant
    @crj

Companies are not eligible for the Capital Gains Tax discount for properties held more than 12 months.  Discretionary trusts will be up for land tax in some states.  A company as trustee for a discretionary trust might be what you need, but if you are negative gearing the losses stay in the trust unless you have a hybrid discretionary trust.  The cost of setting up a structure could eat up a lot of your $15K as well as resulting in increased ongoing fees each year.

I suggest you do more research because it does not seem as if what you have come up with is what would normally be advised

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

You may need to pay stamp duty, mortgage insurance and legal fees. This varies from each state. As well as a deposit as the lenders are being more wary with lending money without a deposit.
    Do a google search on Stamp Duty {insert State you intend buying in}
    eg search term >>>> stamp duty victoria
    to get an idea of what you will be taxed by your state government.

You may need to pay GST as well if it is a new development.

Profile photo of Wendy ChamberlainWendy Chamberlain
    Participant
    @moorew

Hi Silverrookie,