All Topics / Help Needed! / Renovation Advice in QLD

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of jeepsterjeepster
    @jeepster

I've just moved to Brisbane and am planning on doing a renovation on a house. The house is in semi-rural area on acreage – structurally very solid but needs a lot of work to finish off. The plan is to spend about $100K as it needs a new kitchen, bathroom, plastering on walls and ceiling, painting inside & out, rendering (maybe), some electrical re-work, guttering, carpets/flooring (currently on concrete) and all outdoor landscaping (read cleaning up *a lot* of junk and landscaping). No structural work is going to be done as the layout and structure is pretty good. Original work was done by qualified tradesmen and they did a pretty good job for whats there.

My plan is to manage the whole reno (as I’m a qualified Project Manager), do all of the sh*tty work myself and use qualified tradesmen to do all the work that I can’t (not allowed) to do. I’m an above average handyman with no trade qualifications as such but have renovated 3 houses before with spends of no more than $30K at each property.

My question is –what licensing/registration/insurances do I need for QLD? The place is my parent’s old home (unfinished project) that they want to sell after the reno. I understand that one of them will need to get an owner builder license – is there anything else that I/we must have or do?

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Jeepster

Firstly welcome to the Sunshine State or this afternoon should i say the rather overcast and cloudy State.

The answer to your question is a simple one. Contact the QBSA website at  http://www.bsa.qld.gov.au/Home/Default.htm

and it will tell you everything you need to now.

Just be careful as they just love owner builders at the moment.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of BuilderBobBuilderBob