All Topics / General Property / Buying land for investment

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of probeprobe
    Participant
    @probe

I am thinking of buying a piece of land in some rural areas and then leave it until the market price grew and then sell it to make capital gain.
    Can anyone share the list of things that I need to pay attention to?

I read in another thread that i need to pay attention to the land zoning. But apart from that, what else that i need to worry?
    Is there an ongoing fees for owning a land? such as council fees?
    Do i need to maintain the land, like grass cutting, etc, etc or I can just leave it as it is for years?
    Is it better to built a property on the land then sell it or just sell the land?
    any tips or input on pitfalls to avoid would be highly appreciated.

thanks.

Profile photo of jessylou78jessylou78
    @jessylou78

I'm no expert but  im my experience you will need to pay council rates, depending on  what services the land has, ie sewer, town water  etc…if it isn't a huge block and it has neighbours you will need to have the grass cut-  you may have to anyway as long grass is a fire hazard.
    My inclination would be to  build on it if it is in  a reasonably populated area to get a rental return.  The only time i wouldn't is in a particularly low Socioeconomic area where you wouldn't want to rent it out now but believe it will go up in hte future (eg if it right on the water).

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates