All Topics / Help Needed! / Moving to australia and looking to invest,

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of patrick corkerypatrick corkery
    @patrick-corkery

Hi, my name is Patrick. I am from Ireland and am soon to become an Australian resident. I am comming over on a skilled migration visa as an electrician and intend to work in the mining industry. I am also very keen to get involved in property investment. I would just like to introduce myself and ask you guys your opinions on a few issues. As I am a complete novice and have only just begun to study and research the market any advice will be greatly appreciated. Is off plan purchase my best option for a first purchase,  as I would imagine it would allow me time to save and to have the required six months of bank statments for a morgage. I have some savings and which should cover an initial deposit, or would I be better to wait until I had at least a 20% deposit saved? Basically what advice would any of you have for someone in my position. 
      Thanking you in advance, Patrick. 

Profile photo of pcheahpcheah
    @pcheah

Hi Patrick,
    What state are you moving to?

Profile photo of patrick corkerypatrick corkery
    @patrick-corkery

Hi pcheah,
    I am moving to Western Aus, to Perth but I am not sure where I am looking to invest. As my first property will be a buy to let I would be hoping to invest in an emerging or established growth area. Ideally this would be in WA for practicallity reasons but am open minded. Obviously I understand that it is more complex an undertaking than simply selecting am area, which is why any impartial imput is greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of yarposyarpos
    @yarpos

positives of off the plan are stamp duty savings and establishing a foothold in the market before having to committ serious $.

other side of the coin:

ensuring the builder/developer will deliver a quality product;