All Topics / General Property / UK Property Investing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of JimiJimi
    @jimi

Hello everybody,

This is a great forum and I hope to be able to add some valuable contributions.

I am an expereinced property developer and investor and I am thinking of moving to Oz soon to do some property development here. The property market in the UK is currently experiencing a downturn and properties dont 'stack' for rental for the average property investor buying on the open market. However, I have been buying up to 35% below market value for many years here and there are still some fantastic deals to be had. I believe there will be even more to be had in about six months time when the mortgage markets improve. Unlike australia, property investing in the UK is all about positive cashflow and lenders will not lend on the property if it does not cover the mortgage payments. Through buying Below Market Value you can also gain 100% financing and often cash out of deals so this is the strategy that professional investors have been pursuing.

I am looking at the possibility of sourcing UK deals for Australian investors when I move over here as I still have companies operating in the UK that can souce these opportunities. The properties I will source will NOT be off plan over inflated new build properties. They will be modest inner city terraces and semi detached properties where I use an independant RICS surveyor to value the property. The bank lending will be based on this valuation so they will be accurate and based on the market value of the property and the market rent that is chargeable in that area. Often, there will be a tenant in place as we buy a lot of properties from distressed sellers and rent it back to them. These properties typically would be between £50 – £100 cash flow positive per month but more importantly will be bought at 15+ discount from market value.