All Topics / Help Needed! / Hi newbie here, wondering if im on the right track…appreciate input

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of kenyonadkenyonad
    @kenyonad

Hi

My girlfriend and I are looking at converting the loan over her property to an investment loan/interest only, draw out some equity and then rent it out.

The equity (hopefully $30,000) and my cash ($75,000) will then be used as a deposit on our new house that we will live in. Looking to spend roughly $450k.

Figures are for her property:
    Estimated Property Value $280,000.00 (has been renovated since purchase)
    Loan Amount Owing $192,000.00
    Estimated Equity Cash $30,000.00 @ 80%

New interest only loan $224,000 @ 8.70% monthly repayments $1,624

Assume rent will be $280 per week/$14,560 p.a. / $1,213 per month

(slight short fall $411 but interest payments will be deductible)

NEW PPOR

$450,000 purchase price approx.

($30,000) equity and my cash ($75,000) = $105,000 deposit on new PPOR

30 year Loan for $345,000 principle & interest @ 8.70% monthly repayments $2,701

So we'd be looking at having the 2 loans if that’s the way it's done?

Am i on the right track?
    Thanks

Profile photo of YnotnowYnotnow
    @ynotnow

interested in replies you'll receive< iam still very much a novice myself but  … seems like alot of outgoings to me ….thought the idea was, to have props that make money ,maybe negative gearing, at some stage for tax reasons, if you receive
    to much $$$ from ur investments but it doesnt look like it right now …anyway if your main concern is your PPOR you may be right with what your doing

Profile photo of Kiwi-FullaKiwi-Fulla
    @kiwi-fulla

hey guys…..

Um don't mean to rain on the parade….. but in your scenario above ….
    "

New interest only loan $224,000 @ 8.70% monthly repayments $1,624

Assume rent will be $280 per week/$14,560 p.a. / $1,213 per month