All Topics / Help Needed! / 21 year old student: Using the equity in my property to buy an investment property.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of panayotakipanayotaki
    @panayotaki
    Hey everyone, this is my first post here, hope you are all doing well and finding great ideas o

This is my current situation:

Student, 21 years old
    Living in Canberra
    Own and live in a 2 bedroom unit worth $450 000 with no debt.
    No other debt
    Income of around $2000 per month

This is my idea:
    Buy a small, one bedroom unit (under 300 000) and live in it.
    Fund the above purchase using an equity loan using the equity in the 2 bedroom unit.
    Rent out the 2 bedroom unit with an expected rental income of around $500 per week. Then use this income to pay off the loan for the new property.

Now I’m pretty new to this sort of thing, but does that sound like a reasonable way to fund my first investment property? What haven’t I thought about? Any ideas of how I could go about it? What type of loan etc should I look for. I realise my income is not high at the moment but my parents agree to act as guarantors.

Thanks guys!!
    Profile photo of VStarVStar
    Participant
    @vstar

Hi there,
    A few questions:
    1. Wow!!! Where did you get a $450k apartment with no debt??? Congrats!!!
    2. What would be the repayments on the $300k place be? What i'm trying to get at there is could you buy the $300k (say for eg) and rent that out and rent somewhere else that is cheaper then the repayments for the $300k place?

Just a thought!
    Sounds like you're on to a raging start!!! Congrats

Profile photo of VStarVStar
    Participant
    @vstar

Hi there,
    A few questions:
    1. Wow!!! Where did you get a $450k apartment with no debt??? Congrats!!!