All Topics / Help Needed! / Purchasing a tenanted Investment property

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Michael85Michael85
    @michael85

Dear All,

I am new to the property investment game and would be appreciative for any advice given.

So I've researched my location and found a property which seems to fit my criteria.
    Sale price $220k – $240k current yield $240pw.
    It's already tenanted at the above rental and I'm told by the agent the previous Investor is cashing in.

Is there any negative side to purchasing an investment which is already tenanted?
    It's currently under lease till March 09, if I purchase this property wouldn't the tenant have to engage in new lease terms with myself?

Thanking you in anticipation,

Michael P

Profile photo of newbi2newbi2
    @newbi2

Hi Michael,

The lease that the current tenant is on stays put under the current arrangements, your name is merely changed in the bond documents, and you notify them on however you decide to collect the rent (using a managing agent or yourself)

A couple of questions, if it is tenanted at above market rates and this tenant does not renew the lease, what return are you looking at? If the investor is indeed cashing in on the fact that there is an above market rent, I presume you are paying a premium for this property. In the surrounding area, what are the other rental prices, sale prices and overall yields? Does it still stack up?

Mick

Profile photo of Michael85Michael85
    @michael85

Thanks for your help Mick.

Yes the rental income is appearing to be approx. $50 more per week than normal for this area.
    The expected yield for this area is around 4.5%.

Though the asking price is reasonable for this area also, I have sales figures for other houses in this street and having taken growth in mind the current asking price isn't overvalued.