All Topics / Finance / Dealing with brokers and recommendations?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of piratepirate
    @pirate

Hi All

Going to finally get the ball rolling and start enquiring with brokers for a loan. Before i do this tho i have a couple questions when dealing with brokers, im fairly new to this so pls bear with me:

1) Is there an accepted rule with how many brokers you can meet/sit with when shopping around for one? eg is it ok if i sit and talk with more than one broker? i feel kinda guilty if i were to ask several brokers a dozen questions each and only choose one.

2) I assume all brokers get paid via commission once the loan has been approved / signed etc. Is this correct?

3) How much work can i expect a broker to do for me?

4) Is it common or possible for brokers to be financial advisors as well?

5) Can you recommend any brokers ?

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of v8ghiav8ghia
    @v8ghia

Brokers do get what on the surface can appear like a truckload of commission……then again, they get no 'wage', have to pay all their own insurances, overheads, and also…..the lender pays them – so in actual fact, it costs you nothing.
    This means you SHOULD expect personal interest and a good level of service.
    Traps to watch for are brokers that try to sell you their own 'wholesale' loans, or branded products with 'fancy names'. These are via securitised funds, and make them a stack more commission – thus why many push them!
    At the moment, most should direct yo to one of the major banks, and rightly so.
    By all means talk to a few, and don't feel bad doing so. If you find one that you like though, and feel cofortable with – give them a go.
    If you already have a relationship with your bank, make sure you get your moneys worth there too.