All Topics / Value Adding / First renovation!

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of AmandaJoanAmandaJoan
    Participant
    @amandajoan

My partner and I just bought our first property. Really excited! We bought in Kalgoorlie in WA where we currently live as we went to university here. Damon (my partner) has finished uni and I'm in my final year. Next year we are moving out to a smaller mining town where we get accomodation provided so we thought it woud be a good opportunity to try and renovate a property here where rent is expensive and there are plenty of projects for anyone interested.

So we looked at heaps of houses, put offers on two and one was (finally) accepted.

We bought a house in South Kalgoorlie, which is not as good an area as central Kal but is better than Boulder. It's brick (unusual for Kal which is mostly fibro), on a subdividable corner block with a granny flat. Both the granny flat and the house need work though there is no structural damage. It cost $250 000 and in it's current state has a rental appraisal of $300 per week.

Bought for $250 000
    Hoping to spend about or under
    $25 000 on kitchen and bathroom area
    $10 000 on floors and walls
    $15 000 on granny flat
    $20 000 contingency
    Future possibly build on back block using some equity in the property if there is any… (crystal ball needed)

The Main House
    The kitchen needs replacing and the bathroom is huge but poorly set out. The one bathroom could be made into two bathrooms with one being an ensuite to the master bedroom. The walls need painting and floors need new carpets and tiling.

The Granny Flat
    Needs new floorling, a kitchenette, a toilet, one internal wall and painting.

Our plan is to live in the house until I finish uni and then to move to the smaller mining town and rent out the house in South Kal.