All Topics / Creative Investing / How to flip a property

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of JNMJNM
    @jnm

Hello everyone,
    I've just recently joined this site. I currently have 3 investment properties and am a long term investor. However, I  have been pesented with a situation, which is a terrific opportunity but one that I have little first hand experience with. So, I am hoping to get some suggestions from this forum as to what kind of professionals I need to work with to make this deal happen.
    situation is that a friend and I know of a property (mixed business/residence) in a sought after inner city location that the owner, who now lives overseas, bought several year ago for $370k and wants to sell it now for $600k. We also know an interstate investor who has seen the property, but does not know that the owner wants $600k, who wants to buy the property and is willing to pay $800k for it. 
    In case this sounds a bit too good to be true, my friend in question has been running a business and living in this property for the last several years under a special arrangement with the current owner. and the owner is quite happy to have $600k for it and the buyer has done his research and is willing to pay $800k for it. 
    Any recommendations as to an experienced property lawyer in melbourne to handle this kind of deal where my friend and I can be the middlemen. We need the expertise of a professional to lay out the best options related to financials, taxation, CGT issues, etc.. 
    Any suggestions and recommendations will be greatly appreciated.
    many thanks
    JNM

Profile photo of Paul DobsonPaul Dobson
    Participant
    @pauldobson

Hi JNM

To complish what you want to achieve, you need to "control' the property (without actually buying it), along with the right to on sell at a higher price.