All Topics / Help Needed! / Moving the settlement date

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Novice1234Novice1234
    @novice1234

I am new to property game, and blindly making my way into buying first property.  I have signed the contract, and an awaiting valuation to finalise finance – which is due tomorrow.  The real estate has called today and stated that due to tennant they could not give access to the bank valuer, until tomorrow.  This would be fine if I could extend finance, however…the sellor stated that he will only grant an extension on finance, if I extend the settlement date out by one month. I was hoping to move in following the tenants lease expiry in 2 weeks.  The real estate agent implied that the sellor is more than willing to let the contract collapse.  Hmm, it is all seeming very last minute and rushed.  What is going on??

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

A couple of issues come to mind – firstly, what is your solicitor doing/advising?
    Why does the banks valuer require access to the property? Vals for banks are usually done as 'drive-bys' ie external appraisal of the property – this confirms that the building exists (security for the lender), the state of the improvements and allows the valuer to prepare his valuation.
    What is the difference between the settlement date and the vacation date for the tenants? ie is the premises being sold with vacant possession or with lease in place? Has the lease been terminated ie the tenants been given the appropriate notice in a timely fashion by the vendor/managing agent?
    Why does the vendor require an extra month for settlement?
    If the vendor is willing to recind the contract a) what penalties do you face b) do they have another higher offer in the wings?

Profile photo of Novice1234Novice1234
    @novice1234