All Topics / Value Adding / Hep with rough estimate for floorboards + paint

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of salilkanheresalilkanhere
    @salilkanhere

Hi,

I have come across a 3 bedroom apartment that I wish to purchase. It needs a bit of work – (i) new floorboards to replace the dirty carpet and (ii) fresh coat of paint. I want to factor in the costs of these renovations before I decide if want to make an offer. Can someone help with a rough estimate for the above. I am new to property so I any help would be appreciated – I just need a rough estimate – will this cost 10K$, 15K$ or more. The apartment is a 3 bedder of about 100 square meter and I would need to hire handymen to do the job since I am not confident in my ability to do either of the two task.

cheers
    salil

Profile photo of setekhsetekh
    @setekh

Hi Salil

We are currently fixing up our apartment of the same size. The raw materials will cost you in the order of:

The paint and materials (brushes, rollers, sugar soap, sponges etc – $550
    Laminate wood flooring and acoustic underlay $2400

I would probably allow for 5 days handyman hire to paint and lay the laminate. We did the painting our selves over a few weeks ahah. We will be getting someone to put the flooring down and this will likely be about $1800 for labour.

If you plan to rent the apartment out maybe consider laminate flooring over the real wood floor as it is cheaper, and more durable. 

And after all that looks like i didnt answer your question hah.

cheers

Set

Profile photo of salilkanheresalilkanhere
    @salilkanhere

Thanks Set

That surely helps. I will look into laminate flooring as you have suggested.

cheers and good luck with your renovations.

salil

Profile photo of Ol PaintingOl Painting
    @ol-painting