All Topics / Help Needed! / Mortgage for PPOR

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of salilkanheresalilkanhere
    @salilkanhere

Hi folks,

I am new to property and have been reading up several posts on this forum for the past month or so to start understanding the basics. I have also just finished reading Michael Yardney's book and Steve's 0 to 135 properties book and am now keen to enter the property market. I (We – married) currently don't have any property :(. We have around 100k$ ready for a deposit and are currently shopping around for a PPOR.

I have seen several suggestions about taking out an interest only loan with a linked 100% offset account for IPs. However, does it make sense to use the same kind of mortgage for a PPOR or would it be better to go for P+I loan ? Depending on the kind of property we end up buying, we might consider turning it into an IP in 2-3 years. In which case I presume a IO loan would be better to start with. However, if we buy a property that we find good enough to stay in for the long-term (6+ years), would it make sense to go for a P+I loan ? BTW, we are looking to purchase an IP after the PPOR (once we have enough for another deposit).

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

cheers
    salil

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Even if you stay long term having a IO is better I beleive. You can still save the same amount of interest by putting the extra money into the offset account and if you do change your mind and move out you will be much better off at tax time.

With IO loans you could also chose to pay it off as a PI too and then just reduce the repayments if you decide, however if you started on PI you would need to reapply to change to IO (usually).

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au