All Topics / Creative Investing / How to CREATE positive cash flow properties???

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of chappellchappell
    Participant
    @chappell

Hi Guys
    i am activley looking for positive cash flow properties in NT but have found none much to my disappiontment.

i understand that i will have to buy a negative geared 2 bedroom unit and make it positive.

i've read a few random posts in the forum but would like a more clearer definition of how exactly am i to do this??

i understand that i can achieve this by buying a low purchase price as close to neutral as the vendour or myself will allow
    and that i can make improvments 'cosmetic
    im a little uneasy about massive renovations though as im new at this and dont want to stuff it to badly.

are there any other ways any one can let me in on???

i'd be very greatful for any suggestions.

cheers

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

It just comes down to minimising the expenses and increasing the rents as much as possible – and taking advantage of tax deductions.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of TracyDTracyD
    @tracyd

I have bought a place that just needed a paint inside and some tatty carpet replaced. I had the whole 2 bedroom unit painted slightly off white, ceilings, doors walls – the lot. Replaced the carpet in the lounge with vinyl (sounds horrible, but tropical climate in cairns, worked well) this only cost me $1680 to do! Trades have obviously increased in price in the last couple of years, but it still is a cheap option to increase your rent.
    On a different property one of my property managers said if I replaced carpet, I could get an extra $25 a week rent.