All Topics / Help Needed! / New to Property Development – What to do??

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of MurtuzaMurtuza
    @murtuza

Hi Guys,

I am completely new to property development. I know the general concepts and idea behind it as I have been reading up a far bit and talking to people. The only property I have purchased to date is my existing home (6 months ago!!).So, you see, I am really green.

My Wife's family has a 2 acre piece of empty land in Cornubia (Logan area) in Queensland. I thought of doing something with it (inspired after reading Steve's book). Any ideas, tips, suggestion, thoughts how to go about doing property development. We have no idea. I though of subdividing it and building townhouses with a child care center. I do know the current zoning is commercial, so I guess i need it to be re-zoned to residential. Or is it better to build commercial property – e.g storage facilities, office buildings, etc. How do i do the maths. Where do i start to see if it is even feasible.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and highly welcomed.

thanks

Za

Profile photo of red123nzred123nz
    @red123nz

Property development is a tough game from what I have heard, have you invested enough time to build up your knowledge to see what it takes to be good at property development?

If its a great opportunity why not sell it as a great opportunity on the condition that the person who purchases it from you shows you what they do with the property as an exchange of services.

If you want to press ahead with the deal, use a quantity surveyor to assess the site and use the professionals to tell you what you can do and how much it costs.

Make sure the figures add up man.

Even though I have no actually property investment experience I hope this helps. One day I will get into property development but my skills are numbers I would just hire people who are experts to tell me what I can or cant do and then if its right do it!