All Topics / Legal & Accounting / How to Stop Developers

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 32 total)
  • Profile photo of jamo.djamo.d
    @jamo.d

Hi

I live in the Hunter Valley about an hour from Newcastle, all the blocks in the area used to have 100 year old houses on 1/4 acre blocks, it seems that the latest development trend in the area is to buy an old house and either rip it down and build 4 units or 2 sets of duplexes or divide the block leaving the old house at the front and building a duplex at the back.

The area is starting to look quite ridiculous. We used to have trees, gardens, sheds and kids playing in the large backyards, now we have 3 – 4 families living in each yard instead of one, looking over the fences with kids roaming the streets everywhere, it is now like living in a fishbowl.

As an electrical contractor I have been able to talk to quite a few of the developers, they do not want the neighbours to immediately know of their intentions and have little consideration for what they are doing to the community. I jokingly said to one developer that lived in another state "wouldn't it be cheaper to build in your own town or next to your place", he replied " I don't want this kind of thing around my place I like it how it is". Well so do I and many others in our area. The poorly run Local Council need all the money they can get and are approving just about everything.

I now have a 6 unit development on 2 blocks directly behind my house, a duplex being built next to both my neighbours behind the original houses on the blocks and now my neighbours are going to be moving due to their unhappiness with the developments and it looks as though their properties have been purchased by the same developer.

It looks as though I will have 15 immediate neighbours instead of 5. With a large workshop, kids, motorbikes, garden, dogs and chooks I hope that the new neighbours don't mind a lot of smell and noise as we are used to making.